Skip to content

Sunday is for Smiling

July 12, 2009

I was getting ready to head out to the grocery store for a few small things when I was overcome with the intense desire to hear Jimmy’s Got a Girlfriend.

I’ve been in such an “I don’t know what I feel like” mood when it comes to music lately that I took this as a fantastic sign, weird and random as it was, and dug out this album.

I’m used to being pretty disappointed when I pull out old records, since I can’t say the musical taste of my younger self was based on much more than singability and the youth of the act in question, and The Wilkinsons’ Here and Now certainly has that, but there’s more to it.  It’s cute and fun without being ridiculously cheesy or void of real artistic integrity.  The songs are clever, mature, and accessible.

About the time this album came out (2000, nearly ten years ago) was about the time I really started taking songwriting seriously, and part of the reason I guess I really love this album now is that I hear my own style all over it– it’s full of songs I wish I’d written.

I pulled up to the grocery store, after having sung the first four or five songs at the top of my lungs, realizing I remembered every word, and I shifted my car into park as I exclaimed to myself, out loud, “Listening to this CD is making me SO HAPPY RIGHT NOW.”

Simple pleasures.
And life should be so full of moments like that.

And then I found these:

DSCN5360

So yeah.  It’s Sunday.  And I’m smiling.

What made you smile today?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. akalei permalink
    July 12, 2009 3:37 pm

    Oh Courtney… I’ve been sitting here feeling like a hot mess trying to tackle all the unread posts in my reader… and seriously your post put a huge smile on my face!

    Thanks! I needed that!!

    ~Ashley

  2. cari permalink
    July 12, 2009 3:52 pm

    it looks like if you thought about it, you just might crush the thing. fun.

    and, despite everything going on lately, today a LOT of things made me smile.

    -hearing that things sounded muddy in the speakers at church and mick being impressed.
    -dion sitting on the floor in back playing with some kid and his car. and then the kid’s dad came back and sat on the floor by dion. and then mick and the kid were playing some hilarious pointing game.
    -evan (one of the youth group kids) simply being his totally crazy self.
    -seeing my family
    -going to the zoo and watching my sister get bitten by a duck (ok, that shouldn’t have been funny but it was)
    -my niece being totally in love with me
    -ashley (one of the yg kids) seeing me at church because we haven’t seen each other in too long
    -hannah (another yg kid) being the only finalist from MN for a national science fair

    yeah. lots of good things today. almost balances out the crappy stuff. :) love you dear.

  3. July 12, 2009 3:57 pm

    i totally heart the sunday smiles. :) this sunday isn’t as smiley as last sunday turned out, but it’s pretty dang good. :)

    i busted out those albums a couple weeks ago and was BLASTING jimmy and jamming the hell out, also on my way to the grocery store. :) love it!

    things that made me smile: good talks in the early morning hours, my daddy making me breakfast AND banana bread with chocolate chips and nuts in it, and my parents skipping the nerd herd meeting to hang with me. :)

    oh also, i just ate the frosting off that cupcake. sorry. ;)

Leave a Reply

