Skip to content

a letter

July 15, 2009

Dear Careerbuilder.com,

You’re crazy.

And believe me, I know crazy.  I am crazy.  Ask anyone around these parts; they’ll tell you, “Oh yes, Courtney has a bit of the Not-Quite-Sane-ness running around in her head.”

I mean, I appreciate the emails you send me alerting me of new job opportunities, but you’re matching me up with some weird stuff.

Be a Refrigerater Repair Mechanic! A three of five star match!

Oh my gosh, CB! It’s what I’ve always dreamt of! How did you know?!

To your credit, you also threw a marketing position with Sony Entertainment in there, but at a one of five star match.  Because I haven’t actually worked in marketing for a record label before or anything.

Oh wait. I have.

Good job, CB.

Love,
Courtney

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2009 12:56 pm

    I would let you fix my fridge. Just a note.

  2. July 15, 2009 1:03 pm

    Oh my goodness, I signed up for that website and I’ve been harassed with those e-mails ever since. AHHH!

  3. warriorpoetx permalink
    July 15, 2009 2:13 pm

    In the future, when websites run every process, no one will ever actually read your resume, it’ll just be run through a computer algorithm. When I first made a profile on CB, it reminded me of Vonnegut’s first book, Player Piano, where people’s careers were determined by a kind of punch card.

    By the way, I blog-crush on you too. Hope you’re voice studio gets on its feet.

  4. July 22, 2009 9:30 am

    hahahah SO FUNNY!!!!!

  5. July 22, 2009 9:31 am

    ANd i get there emails all the time too… and no matter hw many times i try to cancel it… it just keeps sending me emails… ugh!

Leave a Reply

