Skip to content

20sb Blog Swap: The One Where the Past Becomes the Present, Kind of.

July 22, 2009

Welcome to my FIRST 20sb Blog Swap!  I’d love to give Ashley a wonderful introduction, but I think you’d be better served by popping over to her blog to read what I said about her– and then stick around and read some of her stuff.  She’s a lovely girl and I’m so excited we got matched up.  Are you ready for this?  readygo!


So… I’ve spent most of the last week trying to figure out what in the world I was going to write about for the 20sb Blog Swap. I wasn’t even going to sign up, but then I figured what the heck, I’m new to this whole blogging thing… what better way to trick people into coming to read my blog than to open it up to someone who maybe has a few more followers than me.

Then I got my swap partner… As I sat there reading the email, not gonna lie, I was a little taken aback. The first thing to go through my head was “oh no… I am way out of my league!!!” See, we share a great friend that when I started my blog sent me to read Courtney’s. I am more than a little intimidated… and of course this means that my brain that normally fires at speeds so fast I am spinning in circles… has turned into mush… and nothing sounds good enough to post on Courtney’s blog.

A million years ago (okay, maybe like eight) we had quite a bit in common. We were both band jocks, speech and drama freaks, and flaggers… we fancied ourselves poets and artists (I might have been a little heavier on the art, but I can’t really remember)… there is no denying that we used our creativity and art forms as outlets for our feelings. Oh… and we were both completely boy crazy (emphasis on crazy). One would think that with all these similarities and with all the time we spent together, we would be great friends.

Now, I don’t know the average age of the Courtney fan club (I mean that in the nicest, most non-derogatory way!!!) but time has a way of changing memories from what really happened to how we want to remember them… As I was reading Courtney’s blog seeing how much she’s grown up and how far she’s come I started to get excited that I could be that crazy fan that says “I know her!!!”… and as I was telling my husband about this crazy coincidence that matched us together as blog swap partners, I began rehashing everything I could remember about our time in high school together… how she was this phenomenal piano player, a great singer, super smart, and always had a smile on her face… I honestly had nothing but good things to say about Courtney.

However, when I had the same conversation with my little sister, she asked if I remembered the time Courtney and I got into a yelling match on the way home from the state speech and drama meet. Whoa, what?! I did not remember that at all! But as she started replaying that afternoon… it all started coming back… I hadn’t done that well that weekend, and was more than ready to take it out on anyone within a ten mile radius… and it happened to be Courtney. Then I started thinking about how we were fighting over the attention of some silly boy… and how I was so angry about having to share the piano with her in Dixie Land (a jazz band we both played in)… and how once I “accidently” hit her in the chin with my flag pole for some reason I honestly don’t remember. I didn’t sleep at all that night. All I could think about was how nasty I was to her and wondered how she didn’t hate me after all these years.

Sometimes I am too competitive… sometimes I let my temper get the better of me… and I have a tendency to stick to my guns, no matter how ridiculous I might end up looking… Confused? Sometimes. Crazy? More often than not. Overly opinionated? Without a doubt. But I am not a bad person! And because I am not a bad person, I would like to take this little piece of real estate in the interweb to really apologize…

Courtney, I am incredibly sorry about the way I treated you in high-school, even if it took me six years to say so. I have grown and changed as a person so much in my years since high school, and I have really enjoyed “catching up” with you even if only through reading your blog and listening to RaeLeigh tell me about your crazy adventures. I really look forward to staying in touch with you and really getting to know you. And most of all, thank you for giving me a second chance to show you I am not a bad person!

As a note, I emailed Ash back immediately after I read this and said, “awwwwhthankyouyou’resosweeti’mflatteredsiiiiiiigh.” and let her know that, um, high school girls will be high school girls and no apology was necessary. But really– wonderful girl, and you should totally check her out.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2009 6:49 pm

    Freaking stellar circumstances and way fun to read! And now I am adding Ashley and Big Sky Girl to my reader.

    Blog swaps – they are effective.

  2. July 23, 2009 11:14 am

    ok, for one, i’m really glad that this guest post wasn’t about music. not that i don’t love it, i just know that courtney does, in fact, do OTHER things. and it was nice to read about something else. and yes, i’m totally heading to the other sites to check them girls out as well.

    though, not gonna lie, the thought of adding more people to my reader makes my head hurt just a little bit. i’m sure it’ll be worth it.

Trackbacks

  1. ZOMGYAY!!PONIES!!1!!! « Big Sky Girl

Leave a Reply

