Skip to content

The One Where Courtney Forgets the Meaning of “Inside Voice.”

July 30, 2009

So I was at work Monday night when a lovely girl and her adorable husband asked me for fashion advice.  I do work at a clothing store, after all.  I threw in an opinion here and there, helping her make her final decisions, and as we began the checkout process I asked what the stack of new clothes were for.  A new job, perhaps?

“Oh,” she said, “Well, I’m jumping the gun a bit.  I just had my first interview and I was called in for a second.”

“What kind of job?” I inquired.

“To be a band teacher at one of the local schools.  See, we just moved here from Minneapolis and–”

AND THAT’S WHERE I STARTED TALKING IN MY “IF I WERE TYPING I’D BE CAPS LOCKING EVERYTHING RIGHT NOW AND MAYBE EVEN BOLD FACING ALL OF IT” VOICE.

“OMYGOODNESS I JUST MOVED FROM MINNEAPOLIS TOO AND I WANT TO BE A MUSIC TEACHER TOO.

(side note: secret’s out- kinda.)

So we got into a big arm-flaily conversation about Minnesota and the reasons we moved (she’s a singer too! and her husband’s going to grad school here but um, she’s a singer too!) and it all ended in exchanged phone numbers and email addresses and they have a karaoke machine at their house and we are now destined to be BFFs for life.

So that’s my story.

Got any small world craziness to share this week?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2009 5:35 pm

    That’s amazing. I love when we meet the right people at the right time and it turns into something amazing.

    I dunno, amazing just seems to be the best word for this story, and YOU :)

  2. July 30, 2009 5:55 pm

    I am laughing at the words “big arm flaily” as it has now entered my everyday vocabulary.

    And ah, how hometown pride is such a catalyst for friendship!

  3. cari permalink
    July 30, 2009 10:41 pm

    HOORAY!!! THAT’S SO EXCITING!!!!

    oh wait. did someone say inside voice…?

  4. July 31, 2009 8:36 am

    I love stories like that! How many times do I have to remind you that PEOPLE ARE NOT ACCIDENTS.

    Caps necessary.

    :)

  5. verybadcat permalink
    July 31, 2009 9:20 am

    Maybe you can teach me to sing? ;) Got a magic wand?

  6. August 4, 2009 11:33 pm

    Yay for small worldies! I always love when those pop up! :)

Leave a Reply

