Skip to content

It’s Sunday… make me smile?

August 30, 2009

handsin

Make a difference in someone else’s life today.  In an entire community of people.  The HandsIn and 20 Something Blogger charity: water campaign has been happening for months.  I’ve put off donating time and time again, and I doubt too many could blame me, if they could take a look at my bank statements month to month.  But the fact is, yeah, I’m paying every month for disgusting tap water, but it’s water that’s keeping me clean and is safe to cook with, safe to drink.  It smells faintly (and sometimes not so faintly) of chlorine, it dries out my hands and has wreaked more havoc on my complexion than a steady diet of chocolate and pizza ever could.  It’s not cool, sparkling, spring water.  But it’s safe, and it’s readily available.

There are too many people in this world who can’t say any of that.

The goal is to raise $5,000, which, they tell me, is enough to build a fresh water well in a community that desperately needs it.

$5,000, in the grand scheme of things, is practically nothing.

So, yesterday, I finally stopped making excuses and I threw in what I could.  It’s not much, but if, like the website says, $20 gives one person clean water for 20 years, even a dollar can go a long way.

But my small donation won’t go anywhere if we can’t get a few more people to pitch in.  Because after making my donation, I asked how much further we had to go.

The answer?

20sb tweet

Surprised me a little bit, really.  Do you know how many people are in our community? 8,000 people. We can’t raise $5,000?  Come on, now.  That’s not even an entire dollar per person.

Do me a favor, everyone, and just think about it.  It’s a great cause, and I feel better already knowing I quit worrying about the extra box of pop tarts I wouldn’t be able to buy and just did it already.  I mean, for awhile that box of pop tarts was important.  I’m not rolling in dough, as I’m sure most of you aren’t either.  I have to eat like everyone else.  But the past few months have eased up on me, not extremely, but enough, and I decided it was just time.

Is it time for you to help make the world a better place?

Give yourself a reason to smile today.  You can click on the “I Donated!” button above or here to pitch in.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Taylor permalink
    August 30, 2009 11:18 pm

    Aw, I promise I will as soon as I put money onto my debit card. Cross my heart I will :)

  2. fbg permalink
    September 1, 2009 8:00 am

    I like this charity, too, but I follow my parents’ philosophy of planning your philanthropy, and sticking to it. That works, assuming you reevaluate your plan often enough. ;-)

    It just so happens that I *thought* I had been contributing monthly to charity:water, but I just check my bank and credit card statements, and apparently I’m not. I thought i signed up for charity:water, Avaaz, and S.O.S. Childrens’ Villages all at the same time, but apparently I missed one (I get the newsletter, but they’re not taking my money… hmm).

    So, thanks to your blog, I’ll *really* be signing up now. :-)

Trackbacks

  1. What’s Going On

Leave a Reply

