Skip to content

Explanation of Sorts

August 31, 2009

Let’s be honest.

Why am I not a famous singer/songwriter yet?

Because when I finally get around to doing paperwork like copyrighting and compiling lists of places to submit and even doing something as simple as seeking out songwriter nights in town–all necessary things to getting my work, you know, noticed— I get distracted.  Because all of that requires going through lists of songs I’ve written, or checking my equipment to see what I have and what I’ll need, etc, etc, and THAT is distracting.

I just opened up the spreadsheet that I use to attempt to keep track of all of the songs I’ve written, which are copyrighted, artists I’ve pitched to, which ones I have rough demo recordings of.  I’ve gotten a little behind over the past few months; I decided it was time to catch up.

I didn’t even make it through ONE. LISTING.  before I was all,

Look at this pretty song I forgot I wrote wow the chorus is pretty oh look a ukulele maybe I should play instead.

Somebody hide the musical instruments from me.
It’s for my own good.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2009 2:29 pm

    Playing instead? Sounds like a lot more fun :)

  2. cari permalink
    August 31, 2009 3:05 pm

    oh dearie.

    i think that simply means you’re not meant to do that. maybe it just means that you’re meant to do something even though you enjoy it.

    i don’t know. just a thought.

  3. September 1, 2009 6:37 pm

    Pssh. That’s not a bad thing, love. Not at all. That means you’re loving your craft and maybe should have someone else keep up with that for you. ;) If nothing else, play through all the songs on the list and attempt to make it through. It would be fun. And maybe you could think about it some more and make minor changes to the list before you play a different song each time.

Leave a Reply

