Skip to content

What Can You Tell Me?

September 14, 2009

Something I REALLY like doing is letting people explain things to me.

The thing is, I like to learn, and I like it so much more now that I don’t HAVE to.

But rather than poking around the internet or reentering the dark ages and using the *gasp!* library* to research the answers to my curiosities, I much prefer seeing the sparkle in your eyes fire up when I ask you to explain something to me that you’re really passionate about.

I love it when people stop themselves and say, “Oh, sorry, you don’t want to hear this.”

And I get to say, “No!  No, you’re SO wrong. I do want to hear it.  Tell me what you think.”

And I don’t always have much to say once you’ve finished.  Chances are you’re telling me about something I don’t know a whole lot about.  I’m letting things sink in, I’m trying to make them make sense, applicable to my life, things I already know. In that sense, it is a bit of a showstopper.

It’s perhaps why I come across as disinterested from time to time.

I’m not.

I’m just a girl who is known to take her time.

So I guess what I want to know today is… what do you know?

Will you tell me?

*I love the library, PS.  I like couches and free air conditioning and all of the books to be read, stories to get lost in.  I don’t love library research.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2009 9:39 am

    What do you want to know? I can talk to you about accounting, but honestly? The theories aren’t very interesting at all, it’s all in the application. I can talk to you about dogs, that’s pretty interesting. Plants? Check. I’m your girl.

    I could also tell you about my night last night, which I know an awful lot about, but that would not be an appropriate discussion for your comments. It’s a Facebook thing. ;)

  2. September 14, 2009 10:35 am

    Letting people explain things to you is also a great way to let communication blossom especially this day in age when people can not seem to communicate with one another!

  3. September 14, 2009 11:03 am

    If you ever wanted to know the names of all the bones and practically ever muscle in the body I can definitely help you out there.

  4. September 14, 2009 3:13 pm

    The series of tubes. I can navigate them. And I can give you directions. :)

  5. September 15, 2009 11:32 pm

    I know every phonics, grammar, vowel sound, word spelling rule that any person could ever need to know. I also know thousands of useless facts about a pluthera of children’s book authors and illustrators.

    I also like you love to learn and read. I love this question too.

    Thanks for sharing some love with me recently too. :)

  6. September 17, 2009 10:32 am

    I know a lot about science, a little less about finance, a lot more about Nigeria and lot less about history. But these are all things that I like to talk about all the time, so my knowledge grows daily :-).
    I’m sure you can teach a few things yourself.

Leave a Reply

