Skip to content

A Pledge

September 18, 2009

Let’s just be honest here.

I suck at energy conservation.

I want so badly to be green as the grass in July, but old habits die hard.

So, so, so hard.

But I’m working at it.  Baby steps.

But there seems to be a recurring theme in much that I read lately.  Many different sources are repeating the same mantra:

Eat less meat.

So you know what?  I’m gonna try it.

I already don’t eat much.  It’s more expensive and when I’m grabbing stuff to eat at work, a PB&J is just much easier to deal with.  I love french toast and cereal and have always preferred meatless sauce on my spaghetti.

It just won’t be that difficult of a transition.

So I’ve decided to go completely vegetarian.

After I finish that package of bacon sitting in my refrigerator, that is.

It’s not going to be some crazy moral crusade.  I’m not rushing in on my horse with a sword in hand ready to behead or impale anyone who thinks eating meat is the bees knees or anything of the sort.  I’m not even going to be so strict about it as to mention it to much of anybody beyond this particular post.  If I’m invited for dinner and the main course of choice is pot roast, I’ll probably enjoy a plateful and revel in the meaty goodness while I can.  If someone is nice enough to share a meal with me, I’m not going to turn it down, nor am I going to request special food be prepared on my behalf.  SO not me.

Eating meat is not something I’ll never do, just something I’m vowing not to make a habit of.

Really, what I’m pledging to do here is not to never eat meat, but to never buy it.

Oh, sweet late night McDonald’s stops, I’ll miss you the most.

On a somewhat related note, I’m trying to do something very similar with sugary things.  I’m not allowing myself to buy cookies or cake mix or anything like that anymore.  A candy bar at check out is my own personal compromise.  I still get a fix every now and then, but in much smaller quantities.  And of course, I’m incapable of turning down free break-room doughnuts at work…

All a very large experiment to get myself eating healthier, get more creative with cooking, and save a little Earth in the process.  I can’t help but think if we all took more baby steps a little more often things could change.  I can’t do it on my own but I can’t expect anyone else to do it either if I don’t try.

So… are you a vegetarian?  Or have you ever made any alterations to your diet?  How did you deal with it?  And do you have any yummy ideas for me?

And as a random thought, my earlier mention of bees and their knees led me to wonder… can vegans eat honey?

Hmm.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2009 9:09 am

    I went vegetarian this year (making exceptions for seafood occasionally), and it was a really, really great choice for me. It’s more about health and how much better I feel than anything else, but I do like knowing it’s got a positive impact on the environment as well. Anyway – tips? Morningstar. Seriously, their chicken nuggets kill cravings for those and their sausage patties go great on English muffins. Also? The Italian sausage Meal Starters are great for when you DON’T want meatless sauce. I mean, it’s meatless, but it totally hits the cravings. The bacon though? NOT a substitute.

    Good luck! And hit me up if you want any encouragement or recipes or anything. I’m with ya.

  2. September 18, 2009 10:52 am

    I switched to wheat bread recently. Quite the revolution.

  3. September 18, 2009 11:06 am

    I went vegetarian overnight and lasted about 2 years. I started eating meat again because I wasn’t taking enough time to make sure I was getting all the nutrients I needed. I knew I was low on protein and B-12 but just didn’t have the time to research recipes. My advice, if you do decide to do this, research it. Look into how much protein you need and make sure you get it. Otherwise, your health could suffer.

    Good luck!

  4. September 18, 2009 11:11 am

    Some vegans do not eat honey, which is ludicrous because that’s what bees do. They make honey. Although there are some controversies over how the honey is harvested from the hives…

    Anyway, like the above comments, just make sure you do your homework and get enough complete proteins and other vitamins and minerals.

    I’m not a vegetarian, but when I do buy meat I make sure I buy local organic meat and eggs. (As well as most everything else I buy)

  5. September 18, 2009 11:21 am

    So my house isn’t completely vegitarian, we eat a lot of chicken and fish, but other than when I go home to my parents, we don’t ever eat red meat. I don’t know how much of a “cooker” you are, but I do have a lot of good meatless recipes. I can email them to you if you want.

    The biggest thing to remember is make sure you are getting enough nutrients! Take a multi-vitamin, and if you start to feel tired and lethargic, think seriously about supplementing with a Vitamin B Complex and additional Iron.

  6. September 18, 2009 11:30 am

    I’ve never officially been a vegetarian, but when I was a freshman in college the dorm meat grossed me out so much that I pretty much excommunicated any form of it from touching my dinner tray. Whoever said morningstar items is definitely onto something–Morningstar and Boca Burgers sustained me that whole year! They’re actually pretty good for you, too.

  7. ina permalink
    September 18, 2009 12:46 pm

    I don’t follow any specific diet, but I try to only eat “real food”, meaning food that has less than 5 ingredients and is as unprocessed as possible. So, that means lots of vegetables, fruit, whole grains, fish, chicken, natural yoghurt, brown rice etc. We also make our own juice and smoothies. Most of all, it’s just important for me to know what I’m putting in my body. Sushi is some of my favorite food for that reason; it’s easy to see what’s in it! So many diseases are related to the Western diet of fried, fatty, processed foods, so that’s what I avoid eating. Get yourself a blender and make delicious, healthy smoothies by freezing cut bananas, strawberries, blueberries, mango etc. It’ll make your body so happy :)

  8. September 18, 2009 2:10 pm

    props to you. i dont think i can go meatless

  9. September 18, 2009 4:32 pm

    i think you can still have McDonald’s since that’s not real meat, right?

    kidding of course. :)

  10. September 20, 2009 3:32 pm

    Good for you! I’ve never been vegetarian, but I definitely ate less meat when I lived in the dorms because it was SO GROSS. I got back into it a little more when I moved out of the dorms and lived in a house.

    I don’t cook too much meat, really. I’m a chicken girl, and whenever I buy it, I like locally raised chicken with no funky stuff (like hormones, etc.) in it. And I am trying to get back into eating all locally grown stuff. Fresh. Without preservatives. Which is hard to do in a small town, but I feel so much better when I’m not putting crap into my body.

    Aaand now that I’ve written a novel of a comment, I’m excited to hear how this works for you!

  11. September 24, 2009 3:47 am

    I was a veg for 10 years. The problem with the way I handled this situation was I just doubled the amount of carbs I ate. Rice, potatoes, bread, starchy mcstarcherson foods.

    Just be careful with that one. My body didn’t love that.

  12. September 24, 2009 3:53 pm

    can vegans eat anything?

    just curious.

    good luck with all that, really. i find it particularly amusing that while you’re trying to alter your diet, i’m trying to REMEMBER to eat. anything. good thing i’ve got someone who’s personal crusade is reminding me to eat. gotta love that man.

Leave a Reply

