Skip to content

It All

September 24, 2009

Clarissa Explains It All was filmed in front of a live studio audience at Nickelodeon Studios, Universal Studios, Orlando, Florida.

Oh. Em. Gee.

I wanted to GO to Nickelodeon Studios, Universal Studios, Orlando, Florida.

I wanted to be in the live studio audience.

I wanted to be Clarissa.

At one point I even took a terribly adorable photo of my terribly obnoxious (at the time) little brother and I drew a circle around it, a line through it, and hung it on my door.

Take that, Ferg Breath!

What I really loved about Clarissa, though, besides the fact that her best friend was a boy who climbed through her window by ladder as a regular alternative to using the front door, besides the fact that she knew It All, besides the fact that she was kind enough to Explain It All, was her WARDROBE.

I couldn’t have dressed like Clarissa if I’d wanted.  And I wanted. No, we were from the middle of nowhere and we shopped at Walmart, because even that was nearly an hour away.  And as a girl who was completely unaware of the ways of the world beyond Small Town, Montana, I assumed every other kid in the entire country was in the very same predicament I was.  I honestly thought we were ALL shopping at Walmart. And where did Clarissa get her clothes?

Um, Nickelodeon Studios. Duh. Because it was magic.

And so I had this genius business plan.

I imagined Nickelodeon Studios to be somewhat akin to Disney World… was I right?  I don’t even know.  But I figured this magical land of slime and big orange couches and talking tongue depressors (don’t even tell me you don’t remember Stick Stickly. You’re dead to me.) must have the COOLEST headquarters, and I figured it must have kids like me swarming it, waiting to see real LIVE TV shows and meet characters and, I don’t know, be kids.  And what I figured they should do to capitalize on all of this was…

Open a Clarissa Explains It All CLOTHING STORE.

Because opening restaurants and cotton candy stands and charging exorbitant rates for undercooked cheeseburgers was also a concept that had never come near me or my sheltered little world.

Besides, if I ever made it to a Live Studio Audience at Nickelodeon Studios, Universal Studios, Orlando, Florida, I sure has heck wasn’t taking a Rocko’s BFF Heffer home with me on a bun as my souvenir.

No, I wanted Clarissa’s look.

And it just seemed ridiculous to me that no one had thought to open this store.  Just silly and, all right, I’ll just say it, UNFAIR.

It occurred to me the other day, though, the way the fashion/trend world seems to be headed, at least concerning the high school aged girls, while I may not be able to pull it off EXACTLY (I don’t think I’d want to at this point), I could probably pull together a really decent Clarissa look.  Contemporary and cool.

The envy of all the girls at school.

And then, only then, I would gain the wisdom, the knowledge, to Explain It All.

But damn, all my friends would still use my front door.

I’ll just never be that awesome.  It’s the sad truth.

Who did wish you could be when you were younger?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2009 3:51 am

    I wished I could be one of the characters on Hey Dude. I didn’t care which one but I was partial to Brad (female). I wanted to work on a Dude Ranch, flirt with the other workers, ride horses, and have great adventures. When I was 18 I acctually applied for a job as a counselor at a summer camp because I thought it would help fulfill this dream.

    It didn’t. It taught me I hate spoiled rich kids that go to fancy summer camps.

    I still want to work on a Dude Ranch.

    Oh and you are awesome for loving Clarrisa. You’re one smart girl. Her wardrobe was divine!

  2. September 24, 2009 4:34 am

    First off, Clarissa was my idol when I was a kid. Her room was cool, her clothing and accessories were cool, and she had the most handsome BFF. I use to be in love with that show. Na na na na na.

    I love this picture of her, btw:

    And, I have to make a mention about Stick Stickly.

    “Write to me, Stick Stickly. P.O. Box 963, New York City, New York State, 10108 ”

    Awww….memories.

  3. September 24, 2009 6:48 am

    I wanted to be the main character from The Greatest American Hero! Actually, I just wanted to be able to fly. I already had the cape. ;-)

    That show also had the greatest theme song EVER. :-)

  4. September 24, 2009 8:01 am

    I didn’t want to BE Laura Ingalls Wilder but I wanted her to time travel to the present so I could show her how life had changed

  5. Taylor permalink
    September 24, 2009 10:33 am

    I wanted to be on Disney Channel. You know how the kids draw the little mickey mouse head with a wand before their show starts? Yeah, I wanted that to be me SOOO bad! I thought acting for Disney would magically make me as awesomely cool as the girls starring in my favorite shows.

    Oh, the good ‘ol days…

  6. September 24, 2009 11:04 am

    Oh I loved that show. Thanks for bringing back great memories. =)

  7. September 24, 2009 5:38 pm

    i heart clarissa as well.

    roomie/maryevelyn and i were watching dancing with the stars the other night and melissa joan hart was on, saying she was most famous for being in sabrina the teenage witch. we both looked at eachother like..whattt???? it was all about clarissa.

    as far as who i wanted to be, i definitely wanted to be on the mickey mouse club. or kids incorporated. like really bad. my sister and i would make up dance routines to the songs they did and prance around our house spelling K-I-D-S!

  8. September 24, 2009 11:16 pm

    oh me, oh my…i looooooooooooooooved Clarissa Explains it all…i watched that show religiously, I was so sad when it ended. I am still not sure if i have been as sad when any other show came to an end. I for sure wanted to be her…I would pretend in my room while talking at my desk to my invisble camera that I had my own show. I had a bunk bed type thing that had my bed on top and desk and dresser underneath…this allowed me to have things hanging on the side of my head…very similar to Clarissa, or so I thought…hehe

    wow, things seemed so cool back then…thanks for bringing back that awesome part of my life…

  9. September 26, 2009 2:27 pm

    Clarissa is the only TV character I can think of where I clearly remember thinking, “I want to be her when I’m older.” I need to get that show on DVD!

Leave a Reply

