Skip to content

Smile, It’s Sunday!

September 27, 2009

I feel as though I’m running out of things to say.  It’s not so much writer’s block as it is I have a feeling you’re going to get awful sick of me incredibly soon if all I continue to write about is “blah blah blah, this and that, my life is awesome, woo!”

But that’s how I feel.

Sure, I wish I could travel more.

Sure, I wish I had a bit more money to do things like saving up for a new computer (Macbook, baby, promise you’ll wait for me!) or buying a small sound system for my coffee shop gigs.

I mean, I guess I could always use more money.  Couldn’t we all?

But the point is that I’m rarely bored.  I have a job that, for the most part, gets my bills paid.  I get to write songs, I get to sing for people.  I’m making more and more amazing friends all the time (thanks in no small part to 20SB which has LITERALLY changed my life. I mean, I just don’t know if I’ve said that lately).  I’m TEACHING, and although my goal was to be able to quit my other job before Thanksgiving and I’m now fairly sure that’s not going to happen, I am completely satisfied knowing I tried, that I’m good at what I do, and that it will happen for me sooner than later.  I’m getting some great advice on the Summer 2010 project, and I’m excited to start putting some real work into it, soon.  I’m editing a novel!  And that’s new for me, but it’s fun discovering just how capable you are when you’re not afraid to try something new.  Oh, and speaking of 20SB, I’m a part of the amazing team that keeps the site growing and becoming more and more AWESOME.  All of that, plus I’m seriously considering hitting the “real job” hunt again, and the best part is that this time, I know exactly what I’d like to do.  That helps, you know?

The past nine or ten months have been so good for me.  I know who I am, I know where I’m going, I know what I’m good at, and I’ve finally realized that I’m capable of ANYTHING I put my mind to.

But see?  This is stuff I’ve told you already.  I’ve gotta get some new material.

It’s Sunday, and I’ve got the day “off,” though I rarely take a day off anymore.  It’s okay.  I’m doing things I LOVE to do.

And that keeps me smiling.

What are you smiling about today?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Taylor permalink
    September 27, 2009 9:03 am

    I’m smiling because I’m making new friends. Because I don’t have to work today. Because I woke up early enough to actually get some work done. Because it’s beautiful outside.

  2. September 27, 2009 3:46 pm

    I cannot agree more. I wish I had more money & travel more but this past year has been magnificent

  3. September 27, 2009 5:09 pm

    1. I can eat whatever I want, because my mouth and throat are all healed!

    2. It is finally sunny. Mainly I’m happy for the dog, who has been inside for two seconds all day, and will be getting some fetch here shortly after several days without.

    3. I have enough energy for the interwebz!

  4. September 27, 2009 5:30 pm

    I have to say that you reminded me of the good points of where I am right now and how my job is treating me. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

