Skip to content

Duck, Duck… Tuna Fish?

October 1, 2009

Late Tuesday morning I met up with two amazing ladies for a sushi date and some much needed girl time.

It was fantastic– one of the best days I’ve had in weeks.  But that’s not what this story was about.

The thing is, I get really excited about sushi.  You may recall that I’ve gone veggie, but one of the exceptions I made for myself right away when I made this decision was to allow myself meat when I was eating out.  Then, one night, I ended up at the Cracker Barrel with a friend, and looking over the menu I couldn’t believe how much I didn’t want chicken fried chicken.  Used to be my favorite, people. I thought, wow.  Maybe I won’t even be doing the eating out thing.

And then the ladies suggested sushi.

And I was like OH YEAH.  There’s my exception!

But that’s not what this story is about either.

I got excited, as it was only going to be my second date with sushi.  As I tend to do when excited, I tweeted.

I received a reply soon after saying, “Cook the fish before you eat it!!!”

I did not order cooked fish. I was honestly a little disappointed that I didn’t get to just go all out and try the raw fish the first time I had sushi.  I vowed to do it this time around.

I was not disappointed.

That’s also not what this story is about.

The story is about the boy who tweeted at me.

This boy has been previously recorded into my history here.

And here.

And a few weeks, maybe even months ago, this boy suddenly reappeared in my life after at least half a year of absolutely minimal communication, through twitter.

Goose tends to just reappear like that.  Unexpectedly.  In silly ways.

Not that twitter is silly, but years ago I had convinced him to try blogging and he never really got into it.  He was (still is) very into radio, and since blogging was still in its earlier stages, I think he was having a hard time realizing its full worth for him.  After that, I just kind of assumed it was something he’d never pick up.

But this twitter account he was using was linked to– oh!— his blog.

I glanced over it quickly, but must have been in the middle of something, because after making a public twitter to-do over his unexpected reminder of our connection and friendship, I never really went back to see what it was all about it.

Tonight, in the interest of finding out what the Sushi Discriminator himself was up to, I clicked through and read the blog.

And I found out that this blog is not just his.  Yet it’s his, you see?

What I’m trying to say is that this boy spent his four years in college studying radio broadcasting.  For four years, he was a campus radio personality on a campus with an amazing radio station and a real, sizable listening audience.  He produced his own show with creativity, intelligence, and humor.  He won national awards.

(All this, and may I remind you, he was an incredible kisser?  Okay, thanks.)

So, though he has graduated and moved on, though he has a real job as a paid radio personality at a real, live radio station, this blog is a bit of an archive of his past as a college radio personality.  But on top of that, he’s continuing a weekly podcast, and several of his friends/classmates are contributing to this blog.  His blog.   The topics are interesting, the information intelligent, and the guy behind it all?

Well, (kissing reminiscing aside) he’s incredible.

For as long as I’ve known him, this is what he’s talked about doing.  Being a radio personality.  Talking about sports and politics and getting to be generally goofy all at the same time.  And here hw is, a 23, almost 24 year old guy, living it.

Not only that, but he took it a step further and allowed himself to reach beyond that which he previously understood.  We didn’t know much about podcasting and blogging and all of that when we were in high school.  It didn’t exist the way it does now.  But now I’m sitting here in Tennessee, chasing my own dream, a dream he’s heard me talk about as long as he’s known me, and I’m seeing him embrace every new opportunity he can.  I’m seeing him work hard, have fun, involve his friends, be the person he was always meant to be.

And knowing him, he’ll just keep getting more and more incredible.

It’s who he is.

It’s just amazing to me… the people who come in and out of our lives for these reasons or those ones.  It’s one thing to have friends who are doing incredible things with their lives, who are striving to be better people all the time, who truly inspire you.  That’s a wonderful thing.  But to have known somebody long enough to have seen him work up through it, not even in detail, but just to know that there was a point when he was just like me… a small town Montana kid with a big huge dream?  It’s the greatest blessing there is.

If you read this, Goose,

Thank you.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2009 9:00 am

    If fish is the exception, they call that ‘pescatarian’ (I learned this when I gave up meat, with the exception of seafood, for Lent). It’s pretty much how I’m still living right now (zero meat except the sea creatures), and I quite enjoy it :)

    Oh, and people aren’t accidents. But we already knew that.

  2. bodeloublogs permalink
    October 1, 2009 1:06 pm

    Doni says people aren’t accidents and she couldn’t be more right!

  3. October 1, 2009 1:31 pm

    This post takes a sudden and profound turn but maybe we I should have expected that. ;)

    The people you get to see grow into the people they intended to become are very, very rare, and should be kept close as a source of inspiration. Good for Goose (hah. that sentence looks funny), and I hope he keeps it up.

    BTW sushi is one of my favorite things in the world and has been for over a decade now. If you can afford it, order Otoro. Trust me on this.

  4. Steph permalink
    October 2, 2009 6:09 pm

    HAD FUN!!! So proud you tried something new!! Let’s do it again soon!!!!!!!!

  5. October 4, 2009 7:27 pm

    gosh dang i love sushi. and stories about goose. :)

Trackbacks

  1. gifted/weekly catch up « BodeLou Blogs

Leave a Reply

