Skip to content

Karma and The Good Stuff

October 15, 2009

I generally make a point of keeping talk of my “day job” pretty vague.  I especially try to steer clear of talk of coworkers.  But I’ve gotta make an exception today.

It was a pretty decent day for me.  I’d had a full recharge day off, had gotten up in time to drink my coffee that morning, and I was given projects enough to keep my hands busy.  I was by no means in a foul mood, but this girl I work with… this angel of a girl, made the day a little brighter every single time she popped back to my corner of the store to take care of something.

She’s not the kind of girl who’s ever really moody either, but today she was just flying high and lifting everybody up with her.

After one particularly shiny smile, I finally had to ask what had her in this particularly dazzling mood today.

“I had THE BEST DAY yesterday.” She beamed. “Karma is AWESOME.”

And then she scooted away again, bobbing her head to whatever was playing over our store sound system.

But that wasn’t enough information for me.  She came back again, just a few minutes later, and again, I had to ask,

“What was so awesome about your day yesterday?”

Her eyes turned all soft and adorable as she said, “I was behind this lady at the grocery store who couldn’t afford everything she had in her cart, so I paid the difference.”

I was a little stunned.  People still do that?

What came out of my mouth was, “Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwh.  That’s so sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet!”

And then she counted off two or three other good deeds she’d done, finished it off by saying,  “And then my mom called to tell me she was putting $150 in my account!  She hasn’t just given me money since…. um…. I don’t remember!  KARMA BABY.”

And then she pulled out a folding chair and offered it to a lady waiting for her granddaughter to try on a few dresses.

She turned back around and whispered, “Kaaaaaarma.”

She and I giggled over the silliest things for the rest of the day.  Her mood was infectious.  We drew happy pictures and inspirational lyrics on post it notes and left them for the next shift in the fitting room.  And when she wasn’t around, I made sure to step up in her place and offer that chair to anyone who looked like they might need it.  I couldn’t use it, why shouldn’t somebody be able to, right?

Do you believe in Karma?  I do, in a way.  I believe that those people who see enough good in the world to know it’s worth working to make it even better are the ones who will see that work pay off, if only because they’ve already got the positive attitude and are on the lookout for those things.

I could have had the exact same day, but with a different attitude, found this girl completely irritating and let it rile me up to an even further extent.  But that’s not me.  And I’m glad it’s not me, because Karma’s coming around and I want to be ready to see the good stuff.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Taylor permalink
    October 15, 2009 9:16 am

    Karma’s on my blog today too! I definitely believe in karma, it’s what I generally live my life by. Does that makes sense? Karma is sort of my religion.

    I love this story :)

  2. October 15, 2009 9:30 am

    I TOTALLY believe in karma.

  3. October 15, 2009 11:20 am

    I think almost everybody operates on karma whether they seriously believe it or not. Everyone talks about good things coming back around to you, and I think everyone expects it, to an extent. I try my best not to expect it, but when I do something good? Yeah, I think of karma. Makes you wonder about altruism. Sorry to go a little deep and down, but American karma is just damn interesting. So’s the regular kind, but, you know.

  4. October 15, 2009 11:55 am

    Fun blog, yay for musicians!

    ~Kathryn

  5. October 15, 2009 12:27 pm

    My neighbors and I had a long talk about this the other night. I was going to rant in this comment but instead I’ll write a plug-in post to this one on my own blog. :)

    In the end, whether you want to look at it cosmically or practically, good does return to you. So good lookin’ out.

  6. October 15, 2009 1:37 pm

    I agree with everyone above about karma. I don’t get the back rep it has sometimes. Doing good is always good!

    PS your theme is so pretty!

  7. October 15, 2009 4:44 pm

    This is such a cute post, and that girl sounds absolutely delightful. I believe in karma to an extent — because I think that even if that goodness doesn’t come immediately back around, there is that satisfaction you get knowing you did something to make someone’s day a little bit brighter, and that should matter the most :)

  8. October 16, 2009 12:36 am

    Oh man Courtney, you got it so right about karma.
    And it’s not just about money, obvi… it’s about all of it.
    So glad you broke your (smart, totally justified) silence on the work stuff so you could share this.
    I was just wondering what my karma was doing to let some guy ram into my car (!!!!) so I might just blog about it and see if anything comes to mind — thanks!

  9. October 16, 2009 10:23 pm

    I had a class once, back in the days when I was in college (which seems soooo long ago!), in which I learned just what karma officially is, according to the religion (/philosophy…) in which it originated.

    I don’t totally believe in that karma.

    But there’s a “karma” I believe in. The one you just wrote about. The one that one Mr. Darren Hayes defines as: “what you give is what you get returned.”

    Oh yes. I got all Savage Garden quote up in here.

    But anyway…yes. I do believe in it. Totally.

  10. October 18, 2009 2:42 pm

    karma in a good way oh yeah i definitely believe in it!!working hard doesn’t mean you have reserved for your self at the top.luck has to favor you.being at the right place at the right time.but doing good and then getting the returns is far fetched for me.if you are doing something good with the intention that you will also receive something in return then that’s pure evil!!keep writing!!

Trackbacks

  1. nicopolitan.com
  2. nicopolitan.com

Leave a Reply

