Skip to content

Karma, Part 2

October 16, 2009

So yesterday, I wrote about Karma, how I thought I probably believed in it in some way, and basically continued on my La La La Flowers And Rainbows Ain’t The World Beautiful yellow brick road I’ve been skipping down in song for some crazy amount of time now.

And as I was reading comment after comment from people like you who were also spewing unicorns and neon splatter paint happiness, basking in the wonder of the perfect world we’d soon be living in if we all just smiled a little more, a very dear, very close friend’s house was being broken into and trashed by someone who obviously hates happiness.

And puppies, probably.

Everybody involved is okay, thank God, because looking back on the situation, had things gone just slightly differently that may not have been the case.  But is everyone really okay?

Lord, who knows.

And what I can’t figure out is where Karma fits into this, if I really believe what I told you yesterday.  The two friends who live in that house are good people, amazing friends, giving of their time and their resources.  Neither of them, to be oh so truthfully cliche, has a mean or insincere or violent bone in his body.  They both work hard, befriend everybody, go to church on Sunday morning.

So what exactly did they do to deserve this?

In a way, I guess I’m still seeing the bright side, because what was taken from them was only a very small percentage of what could have been taken… things could have been so much worse in a myriad of ways.  Not only that, but there were witnesses to the crime, the police found footprints and finger prints and from what I understand, that’s more than can usually be hoped for.  Maybe justice will be served.  I don’t know.

But that doesn’t explain why it happened in the first place.  I guess I know that these things just happen sometimes.  Maybe I’m just reevaluating what I said yesterday, is all.

So what do you think now?  Karma?  Yes or no?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2009 10:00 am

    I think we misunderstand karma. We boil it right down to it’s simplest form- “you reap what you sow”, and while this is true, it fails us when bad things happen to good people. That reality seems to undo our belief and trust in the ability of the universe to right itself.

    The way I see it, the truth is that karma is a learning opportunity. Yes, if you do good things, you get good things back. But the bad karma is about learning. I feel like we are given a chance in this life to be the best people we can. I struggled with this a lot when my sister lost her boyfriend. She’s a great person, he was a good person, why did he deserve to die, and why does she deserve this suffering?

    No one deserves suffering. Maybe the lesson is to be more grateful, or to take security and protection of precious things more seriously. Maybe the lesson is that you, me, and my sister are whole on our own, that no one other person can be our “world” because we’re meant to have meaning in the world. Who knows what the particular lesson is. If we could figure that out, then damn, we’d know it all.

    So I basically wrote a post in your comments section to say that we don’t look down on people when we see that they lack knowledge or understanding, we just say they need to learn, and that’s what karma does- it brings us knowledge and a better sense of understanding. About us, about others, and about the world.

  2. courtney903 permalink*
    October 16, 2009 12:54 pm

    yeah. i like this a lot. thanks.

  3. October 16, 2009 5:51 pm

    My POV is actually a direct response to this idea back on my blog.

    Overall, good things to think about for the weekend ahead.

  4. October 17, 2009 11:54 am

    i still agree with what i think you were saying in your first post on karma. it’s about attitude, and even though you may have the same day twice, you can feel two different things.

    the karma of doing exact things because they will be done back to you does not exist in this world. we can only control ourselves, so expecting others to return may keep you waiting and discouraged at times. and as verybadcat said well, you can’t assume that bad things happening are necessarily ‘karma’.

    the real karma won’t come in this world. ever.

  5. October 18, 2009 2:36 pm

    karma for me is more like bad timing.its like lightning has to fall somewhere and i was standing right where it fell!!there is no balance in this world.if a person works hard more than his fellow members that doesn’t mean that he will reach the top faster!!there is no balance or justice in good or bad.i have mostly seen bad things happening to good people.good people dying early!!life is like that and what you can do is just live!!well written post!!i like such kind of posts which makes you think for some time!!keep writing!!

  6. October 19, 2009 5:00 pm

    I don’t believe in any form of karma. I do believe, however, that most stupid/bad people will become so self-indulgent at some point that stupid/bad things start happening to them. That’s about as close of an association that there is between the two. So hopefully, the person that broke into your friend’s house will contract a flesh-eating disease someday very soon.

  7. October 20, 2009 11:16 pm

    First, is there anything your friends need that we can do something about? Words of support, donations, a sympathetic ear for downloading… ? Yes, most material things can be replaced, but I’m so sorry they’ve had their space violated — I hope they can still enjoy their home… I’m so sorry…

    But I like VeryBadCat’s mini-post and thinking, although I see it a bit different. It seems to me that your friends might have been the innocent recipients of such crappy karma not for anything they did to deserve it, but because they are *so* decent that they could withstand it while all of us — and their friends, family, neighbors, etc. — are the real targets of the lesson, which would be whatever we take away from it. Maybe it reminds 20% of us to lock up tight; another 30% of us to support neighborhood watch programs; another 10% of us to hide our really-valuables; and 40% of us to report anything suspicious in our own buildings… or whatever…

    SO maybe we need to thank your friends, just like we thank our military who sacrifice for us (regardless of your politics) so that we get something… with the story of your friends’ loss and trauma, we get the warning, the reminder, the gratitude, the awareness…

    Anyway — I’m going to take it as an alarm to be more careful about locking up, reporting stuff, looking out for my neighbors (and my pal/hairdresser Niles lives right down the hall so maybe we’ll start our own building watch — Evie and the Commandos!

    Thanks for the reminder — hugs to your friends… I hope it’s something they’re able to laugh about real soon…

    xo/Evie

Leave a Reply

