Skip to content

Happy Birthday To You

October 29, 2009

My little brother has now been alive for two entire decades.  TWO.  There was a time in our lives when he was so much younger than me, OMG, Aaron, GROW UP. MOoooooooOOOoooM. Aaron told me to SHUT UP.

But this morning I called him to wish him a HAPPY FREAKING BIRTHDAY and what did we do?

We spent 45 minutes GETTING ALONG.

It wasn’t surprising.  We’ve been getting along fantastically for years now.  Home for holidays, we find ourselves up in the kitchen at midnight giggling about funny things Herman Melville writes and Super Mario Bros. and how flippin’ crazy our parents can be.  We rehash inside jokes and instantly create new ones and reminisce about Reptar the dinosaur and generally have fun.  He’s pretty much my best friend.

DSCN3667

They say girls look for men who remind them of their daddies and I think that’s largely true, even for me, but when I find a boy who reminds me of my brother, I know it’s inevitable.  I’ve got a new best friend.

This kid is smart, and hardworking, and responsible.  He’s got the strangest sense of humor which has the rest of us puzzling over WHAT PLANET HE CAME FROM as we laugh so hard we can’t breathe.  He’s a computer geek, a hardcore drummer, the giver of all things ridiculous and silly, and lover of all things Cheese and The Packers.

And even though I’ll always consider him my baby brother, today he’s 20, and I guess that means he’s not such a baby anymore.

Happy Birthday, lil bro.  Sorry for putting a “No Aarons Allowed” poster on my door all those years ago.

Wait. No I’m not.  You were obnoxious and you know it.

But I love you anyway.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Kayla S permalink
    October 30, 2009 5:14 am

    Aww. You really feel old when you can go into a bar and drink with them (legally!). Happy b-day to Aaron!

  2. October 30, 2009 7:43 am

    45 minutes??? He wouldn’t talk to me that long because he was too busy LOADING THE DISHWASHER!!

  3. October 30, 2009 7:47 am

    Oh, and I meant to say, that “no Aarons allowed” poster was really cute. It had the cutest picture of him, but you drew a red circle around it with a line through it (just like the “no smoking” signs). You were so creative even then :)

    Sometimes dad and I look at each other in disbelief to see how you two are getting along. It warms our hearts <3

    i have to say that totally wasn’t my idea. swiped it right out of Clarissa Explains It All. If “Aaron Breath” had sounded at ALL as amazing as “Ferg Breath” I’d have used that name all the time.

  4. October 30, 2009 8:36 am

    So sweet. Siblings are the best.

  5. October 30, 2009 1:45 pm

    There’s no bond quite like a sibling bond. May Aaron rock the world.

  6. cari permalink
    November 4, 2009 9:34 am

    i can’t wait for my little brother to GROW UP so we can get along. just not sure that’s ever going to happen until i try some things that he’s into. like computer games and paintballing. which i’m willing to do. just don’t have the time. that’s all. hm.

Leave a Reply

