Skip to content

Communicable Computer Indifference

October 31, 2009

So last night at my little coffee shop gig I met a few new people.

One of them was a cute 27 year old guy reading a Garrison Keillor book.

And I gave him my number.

And tonight he called me.

See, now, I’m feeling a little weird about it because a) we all know I have a big ginormous crush on another guy and b) this guy DOES NOT OWN A COMPUTER.

DOES NOT COMPUTE.

I just can’t wrap my head around the thought of a COMPUTERLESS PERSON unless that person is also ELECTRICITYLESS.  AND INDOOR PLUMBLINGLESS.

Basically a man who does not own a computer should have a big scruffy beard and buckles on his shoes, is what I’m saying.  And should probably build furniture for a living and take it to town with a horse and cart.

And his wife probably should churn butter all day.

BUT despite the fact that I JUST DON’T UNDERSTAND, he didn’t seem at all weird.  Like, if he hadn’t told me he didn’t own a computer and really didn’t care for computers at all, I’d have never guessed.

Is this the new prejudice, America?

Can I catch Computer Indifference by kissing?  Using the same bathroom?

Do you remember those AIDS tutorials we had to go through in elementary school?  Why do I remember some sort of balloon as part of that education plan?  Am I crazy?

YOU CANNOT CATCH AIDS BY RIDING IN THE SAME HOT AIR BALLOON.

WHEW.  Because I do that ALL THE TIME.

Where was I?

Right, so even though I really am very interested in someone else, and things seemed promising for a very brief moment in time, let’s just say that I am not as patient or understanding as I claim to be.  Well, no, I DO understand, and I’m not bitter about it at all, but that doesn’t mean I have to ignore all of my other options, does it?  So, I gave this boy my number, and he’s cute, y’all, really.  And he called tonight.

Of course I didn’t answer and now I’ll have to call back… I mean, I was in the middle of recording so I couldn’t have answered anyway but would I have answered?  Do I ever answer numbers I don’t recognize?  RARELY.  So now I have to be a big girl and make a phone call.  Again.

Boys are such funny creatures.

Ah well.  The blog fodder continues.

I wonder if you can catch Computer Indifference by sitting at the same table enjoying a few cups of coffee?

Let’s hope not.
I really love my computer.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Danielle permalink
    October 31, 2009 12:43 pm

    This is so exciting! New boys are always fun. I wouldn’t worry about the computer thing, unless he doesn’t have a cell phone too. haha

  2. November 1, 2009 1:29 am

    That is seriously crazy. I couldn’t get through a day without my computer, even if I didn’t need it for work and school. I would have a lot of questions for this guy. ;)

  3. November 1, 2009 1:08 pm

    Maybe it’s just me… but i think that’s cool. If i could live (& not go crazy) without my computer, I would.

    I think it’s only weird if he refuses to use all computers. But not owning one, I bet he saves a lot of money/time.

  4. November 2, 2009 11:29 am

    I agree with nashvilleben.

    The fact that he doesn’t have a computer isn’t itself a reason to stay away, but perhaps he has a computer-phobia or something, which might be malignant.

    That being said, email and internet are by far the easiest way to keep in touch with lots of people, as well as conducting some types of business, so it would be weird if he never uses email or the internet, which would indicate some sort of irrational fear or denial. Perhaps he accomplishes this in some other way.

    My brother is a 31 year-old computer programmer who didn’t have a cell phone until two years ago. Until recently, his only personal computer was six or seven years old, and he turned it on once a week at most. He’s pretty normal. More normal than me, anyway.

  5. November 2, 2009 2:03 pm

    It’s hard to imagine someone not owning a computer. I mean, Husband and I have our OWN computers, and my family? Brother and Sister have their own, and my parents share a laptop AND desktop.

  6. cari permalink
    November 4, 2009 9:36 am

    pretty sure that you have NOTHING to worry about. just because he’s weird and psycho and TOTALLY disconnected….

    haha. just kidding.

    in some ways, i envy his ability to be completely disconnected like that. i wouldn’t have blogs to worry about keeping up on or anything. i could just go from day to day doing what i need to do. but alas, my life is not like that. and i wouldn’t want it to be such. because then i’d miss out on reading your life. since we don’t really have time to talk. ever. because you’re busy. and i’m busy.

    i want to come to m’boro and see you. so. badly.

  7. November 5, 2009 3:26 pm

    I love my computer, too… but I love people more. If he’s worth it, catching Computer Indifference wouldn’t be such a big deal. :-)

Leave a Reply

