Skip to content

Men.

November 9, 2009

I am just annoyed with the male half of our species at the moment. Just. Annoyed.

First of all, if you say, “I’ll call you?” and I nod and smile sweetly and bat my eyelashes, that means I’ll be expecting a phone call. If you have no intention of calling again, do not imply that you are going to call. It’s that simple.  Then, try not permanently leaving the state without telling anyone.  Kthanx.

Second of all, if I give you my number, and you call, and we then decide to go out and drink coffee and eat mac&cheese (me) and chocolate cake (you) and have a grand time and then you say, “Seriously, call me anytime,” while it’s not preferable to “I’ll call you,” it is, in this case acceptable.  But then maybe you should answer your phone when I call you. Or, okay, so you can’t be waiting by your phone at all hours of the day and night, but try calling me back when I leave you a message! Really.

And third, if I have invited you to numerous outings both with groups and without, if I have called and texted and tried my very hardest to see you again after one very random and wonderful night, and you flake out on me every single time to the point where even though you always say you’ll try I just get tired of hearing it so I stop inviting you out, almost two weeks after our last half-hearted communication is no time to text me at 10 pm to see if I’m in town.  No, I am not in town, and if I were in town, I would not be dropping everything and hotfooting it to whichever location you happen to be in, be it a bar across the street or your kitchen across town.  If you have suddenly decided you were stupid to be such a girly snowflake, then you’d better man up and apologize for being a stupid girly snowflake, and then try a little something I like to call Planning Ahead.  I’m not picky.  You know if you’re gonna catch me in town it’s likely going to be a Monday.  Try asking Sunday night.  Hell, I’ll take Monday afternoon before I hit the highway.  But don’t expect to text me and have me be there 5 minutes later.

Girly pansy snowflakes.

Men.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2009 1:51 am

    Amen. That is all.

  2. November 10, 2009 8:03 am

    Hmmmm.

  3. November 10, 2009 8:37 am

    That was the best rant I’ve ever read!

  4. November 10, 2009 9:14 am

    What I’ve learned is: date multiple men. Because when one’s not calling another is ;) Easier said than done I know…

  5. November 10, 2009 10:52 am

    Molly’s got a point.

  6. Courtney permalink*
    November 10, 2009 12:15 pm

    oh, molly and doni… the problem is that this particular rant was about THREE different guys.

    i can’t win.

  7. November 10, 2009 12:21 pm

    Well, just keep doing what you’re doing! I believe, and I’ve heard guys say, a guy will contact you if he’s interested, so just keep giving out that phone # and living your life and make them do the work. The right one will come along. :)

  8. November 10, 2009 8:45 pm

    Ouch. I’m sorry, lady. :/

    When I get to town, want to come hang out with me and W and some of his law school boys?

    • g2-af8ce5995d5588d1ee3b257945aed709 permalink
      November 10, 2009 8:51 pm

      ha! what girl could say no to law school boys?!

  9. Kendall permalink
    November 11, 2009 9:27 am

    Sometimes I have to just shake my head at my gender.

  10. November 11, 2009 5:57 pm

    Like I emailed you a while back:

    Overall performance: D-

  11. mary evelyn permalink
    November 12, 2009 11:11 am

    Amen to that.

  12. cari permalink
    November 16, 2009 4:11 pm

    don’t hold back, darlin, tell us how you REALLY feel. :)

    love you.

  13. November 17, 2009 3:05 pm

    Is it just me, or should “I love you” mean just that?

  14. November 17, 2009 11:15 pm

    LOVE this. I couldn’t have said it better myself. The funny thing is, I don’t think we ask for too much. We’re not asking for the world on a silver platter, we ask for LITTLE COMMON COURTESY ACTS. And maybe a sweet gesture here and there. But why is it that we ask them to call us back, make a little teeny tiny bit of effort and it’s as if we asked them to carry an elephant on their back from New York to LA.

    Stupid pansies.

    (I say we because, well, we’re alike). :)

  15. November 19, 2009 11:54 am

    When a man does everything he promises, he is crazy over you. If he starts out shady – he may not be the right one.

  16. November 19, 2009 5:47 pm

    Why is it that in the begining of a relationship, a man will try to bring you the moon if you ask for it, and then 2 yrs into the relationship, he can’t keep simple promises? I’m thoroughly disgusted by the behavior of men.

Trackbacks

  1. Girly Pansy Snowflake « Her Name Was Grace.

Leave a Reply

