Skip to content

New

November 10, 2009

The thing that makes being a new vegetarian really fun (yes! FUN!) is being forced out of my comfort zone as far as food preparation and dietary staples.  If I don’t want to live on veggie chili (which, quite honestly, some days I think I could) or, you know, cereal, I’ve got to be constantly looking for new ideas.  My family was (is) a steak and potatoes kind of family, so it’s not like I’ve got a whole backlog of recipes to go on.

Thank god for the internet.

Tonight I was looking for something a little different than the soups and casseroles that were the obvious, easy decisions I’ve been making lately.

By the way, straight up vegetable soup really is delicious, and if you’re a fan of zucchini and sharp cheddar, hoo boy do I have a casserole for you.

But tonight?  Tonight I was all about the black bean burgers.

I served one up on toast with a slice of cheddar cheese, a dab of sour cream, and a spoon full of salsa.

And a margarita.  Duh.

And OH MY.

My friend P. is here hanging out with my roommate, and he wandered into the kitchen going, “WHAT ARE YOU COOKING?! IT SMELLS AMAZING.”

Um, yes, it does, and that’s because it is.

So, now that I’ve learned to make something new tonight, it’s on to the next project.

Yup.

Just call me Susie Homemaker.

Have you tried anything new lately?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2009 8:01 am

    That’s been one of the best things about going veggie this last year – new recipes! I eat a lot of pasta too though, so that’s always my backup plan.

  2. Kendall permalink
    November 11, 2009 9:21 am

    Mmm, black bean burgers.

    Que delicioso.

  3. November 11, 2009 1:21 pm

    So, pretty sure I know what I’m making for dinner tonight!

  4. mary evelyn permalink
    November 12, 2009 11:12 am

    love, love, LOVE black bean burgers! i’m glad the vegetarian thing is working out!

Leave a Reply

