Skip to content

Jazz Fusion

November 22, 2009

We’ve recently started playing Christmas music at our store.  Don’t even get me started on that.

A few days ago a lady was in buying costume pieces for a dance studio or a dance team… some group of dancers.  She commented on the song playing, an instrumental Christmas tune of some kind, said she liked it, and asked me if I knew who it was.  First of all, I wanted to visibly recoil in horror– most of our Christmas music is terrible and this was no exception.  But I simply said, no, this is instrumental, and the only the only instrumental music I’d know how to name is Mannheim Steamroller.  This obviously isn’t Mannheim Steamroller.  (Translation:  Whoever this is, they are NO Mannheim Steamroller.) First, this lady, at least in her 40s, gave me this blank look, like Man-who? And then she proceeded on, “I just really like this.  It’s different.  Sort of… jazz fusion, I’d say.”

I had to choke back my laughter.

Jazz?  Fusion?  What exactly about this song is screaming JAZZ FUSION to you?  Is it the simple I-IV-V chord structure, the complete lack of non-chord tones, or is it perhaps the acoustic guitar, the drum part a seventh grader could play, and the HAND BELLS?

What did I do?

I nodded.

“Yeah.  Sounds kinda like jazz fusion to me, too.”

People who think they know.

Meh.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2009 9:47 pm

    I have no idea what jazz fusion even means. Fused with what? She’s got a leg up on me. I’ve got about enough expertise to say “I dig the sound”. Beyond that, I’m out of my depth.

    My heart goes out to you, for the Christmas music. I started hearing it the day after Halloween.

  2. November 23, 2009 4:20 pm

    oh man. i’m so sorry for several things, the first being that you are forced to listen to Christmas music already and the second being that you have to call it music and third that you have to pretend to like it and fourth that you have dumb people to talk to.

    oye.

    you’re a better person than i am. i’m not sure how i would have made it through that conversation.

  3. November 24, 2009 2:42 pm

    Great. I dribbled coffee on my hoodie trying not to laugh at this. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

