Skip to content

On Blogging About Boys

January 1, 2010

I talked to him on the phone tonight and we laughed and vented and got a little philosophical.

I told him I’d make a list of his annoying quirks so he could work on his faulty personality.

He said, “Sounds like the perfect little project for a blogger.  Don’t bloggers like lists?”

We’re not always nice to each other, but it’s all in good fun.

And no, I’m not going to make a list of his faults here for the world to read.  Mostly because when I told him with all the sarcasm I could muster that no, he had no annoying or irritating or maddening traits or quirks or character faults, I actually meant it, minus the sarcasm.  I mean, I’m sure he does – we all do – but at this point I don’t see them.   I could list a hundred and two things (ball park figure) about him which I think are wonderful… the only thing I’d put in the “con” column is the fact that he doesn’t let me feed him nearly as often as I try to.  Fudge, sir?  Making soup! Come over!  Like a cup of hot chocolate whilst we conquer Mario 3?

NO?!

This really isn’t a fault of his, in the end.  It’s just a clear sign that I am an Olson girl.  I belong to my Great Grandma Helena, for sure.  Before you know it, I’ll be preparing for my father’s visits by making sure two things are in the house: Banana cream pie and all the fixins for raspberry milkshakes.

I digress.

The real point of this all is to say that the fact that I blog has never been a secret but beyond the fact that I do it, we’ve never really talked about it.  But he brought it up tonight, and though it was jokingly, it did kind of morph into the conversation that defined what he is and isn’t comfortable about me saying about him here.  Meaning, I officially have the okay to write about him.  In public.  On the internet.  And stuff.

And the fact that my mother and everybody she sent Christmas lists to this year has direct access to this website as well means he’s not worried at all.  Lucky him.

I’m constantly reminded of how well I don’t know this boy.  Some of the reminders are simply questions that come to mind, missing pieces as I try to puzzle together things he’s said and things we’ve done.  Still, in other ways, I’m already finishing his sentences.  Not in deep, philosophical ways.  In silly, facetious ways.  Still, what we have right now is working quite well.  And I’m happy with it just the way it is.

And I do think, as a blogger, if I can’t have another blogger, dating a boy who is totally cool with me writing about him as long as I’m not sugarcoating things (well, I’m a sugarcoater in all cases, as a blogger, but I guess I won’t sugarcoat more than usual)(wouldn’t most people want you to sugarcoat things?) is kind of perfect, right?

You don’t have to answer that question.  I already know.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2010 12:04 am

    Addressing dating someone who doesn’t blog is actually an answer I would be fascinated in reading at length. I wonder what are other bloggers rules?

    Another thing — kinda neat that this is your first post of 2010. Just sayin’. :)

  2. January 2, 2010 10:34 am

    I have often wondered the same thing, where we draw the line with blogging about other people. But I love this post, especially your style of writing is very intriguing and comes through in all that you write.

    Best,

    Hannah Katy

  3. January 2, 2010 4:30 pm

    Interesting stuff, and I totally relate. Well, almost totally seeing as I *am* dating another blogger. Right now I’m at the point with him where everything is shiny and new and I want to keep 99.9% of it all to myself. I’m not quite ready to let the public weigh in on us when we’re still defining us… But we both make slick little references to each other in ours that only we pick up on and that’s cute and all, and totally enough for now. It will be interesting – for both of us – to see how telling these stories will evolve as our relationships evolve. I’m excited :)

  4. January 4, 2010 10:38 am

    sometimes that line is a little fuzzy and hazy and always needs to be walked with care, but i know that you got this down and even better that he’s down with it. i’m glad that you’re enjoying yourself. really. it makes me happy.

    ps. just out of curiosity, how goes the song?

  5. January 4, 2010 9:28 pm

    The fact that he is perfectly fine with it is amazing–and great. Good for both of you.

    Make sure he feeds YOU every now and again.

  6. January 6, 2010 3:33 pm

    Good for y’all! That’s so exciting, and doesn’t it feel nice to have someone who understands and doesn’t judge that you write things on the Internet? Because it’s an amazing thing to have.

    Also? I think we should cook together sometime soon.

Leave a Reply

