Skip to content

The New Year

January 7, 2010

Last year:

So this is what I hope for 2009:

I will…

  • either start or join a country and/or bluegrass band
  • write songs with other songwriters
  • join the NSAI
  • play open mic at the Bluebird regularly
  • audition for a Bluebird Sunday Night Showcase
  • get at least one song published
  • get a “real job”
  • make enough money to become fully independent
  • start saving to buy either A) a house or B) a new car.
    (i’d rather the house but my mother pointed out that the car may be the necessity)
  • make many new friends, some musicians, some not
  • stay in better touch with old ones
  • meet Phil Vassar for real this time.
  • fall in love. i’ve got no good reason not to anymore.

So there you have it. I guess I made resolutions this year. Did you?

I generally don’t make resolutions, but last year, for whatever reason, these ones just spilled out of me.  I didn’t get to all of them, and a few of them are my own fault (Um, Phil Vassar had a FREE CD release party last month and I just opted out.  Not that I would have definitely “for real” met him, but the odds improve when you play the game, am I right?) but generally, I’m happy.

So which ones DID I accomplish?

  • I wrote songs and/or collaborated with other songwriters.
  • I played the Bluebird open mic.
  • I didn’t technically get a song published, but have had my songs used in multiple projects.
  • Made lots of new friends.
  • Tried to stay in touch with old ones.  The success comes and goes, but I’m always working on it.
  • And the falling in love thing?  Well, we all know I’m working on it.

As far as the next year goes, a new job is certainly on the horizon.   I foresee much travel, much music, and (gasp with me here: I still don’t believe it myself) maybe even grad school.

Maybe.

I want to teach, I want to keep writing songs, and I want to keep playing music for people.  I’m just trying to find the best way to make it happen.

2010 is about making it happen.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Kendall permalink
    January 7, 2010 4:45 am

    Hope you do meet your goals for 2010 hun, still trying to figure my own out. One is to definitely write and play more music. I was slacking late in 2009 and my guitar has been neglected.

    Good luck Miss.

  2. January 7, 2010 9:11 am

    I’m so glad we made connecting happen in Tennessee last week! It was so good to see you, even if only briefly! I can’t wait to see what 2010 holds for you :)

  3. January 7, 2010 11:41 am

    Best wishes in 2010! Follow your heart & dreams.

  4. January 10, 2010 9:31 am

    YAY! 2010 is about making it happen for myself, too, and I am so over the moon for this year. It’s going to be amazing. I just know it.

Leave a Reply

