Skip to content

A Very Special Announcment

January 12, 2010

Blogging has been an immensely satisfying, surprising, rewarding ride.  When I moved my handwritten diary to an online journal that was still very private and very personal ten years ago (talk about looking back over the decade), I never dreamed it would morph into acquaintances, friends, community, road trips, a place to land.  I was always drawn to this thing called The Internet.  I always wanted my own website, my own virtual space, my own little world.  Friends, I have it.  If I could go back ten years and tell that little girl, “Just you wait!” I wouldn’t hesitate one second.

Just wait until you see where this takes you.
It will be incredible.

I’ve moved around the internet over the past five years the way I’ve moved around the country.  Not aimlessly, at times a bit hesitantly, but always knowing that my next destination would find me just where I needed to be.  I started at now defunct Bolt.com, moved on to Diaryland, Bravejournal, Blogger, and WordPress.  Each of these platforms has seen multiple incarnations of journals and blogs authored by some version of myself.  From the Future Nashville Starlet to The Diary Of A Superstar to WholeNotes and Always B Natural, to a hundred different versions of …’til the river runs dry.

But, you see, the time has come to leave all of this behind.  The moving, the identity crises, the perpetual sense of temporary being.  I’m done with it.  I’ve found my city, I’ve found myself, and it only makes sense that I make myself a permanent internet home as well.

And so, it is, at this time, with great pleasure, I am honored to present to you: CourtneyOlson.com.

My website and me?  We’re still getting used to each other.  I’m still decorating and individualizing it to my tastes, here and there (with the help of the ever-amazing Nico).  This is not its final incarnation.  However, it is certainly put-together enough for you to stop by and see it, finally.  It is my new home.  It is a place I am proud of, and I want you to share it with me.

So will you?

The music is there.  The photos.  The words.

Hop on over and subscribe, if you will.  This will be the last move I ask you to make.  I promise you that.

And sadly, this will be the last of …’til the river runs dry.

It was a good ride.  It’s time for this to end.
From now on, I’m just Courtney.

Courtney Olson.

And I get to live up to my name with every word I write.
It will be a challenge.  But I’m always up for a good challenge.

Thanks for your support.  I’ll see you soon, at the new place!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2010 11:53 am

    Congratulations, lovely! The new site looks AMAZING!

  2. January 12, 2010 2:31 pm

    Hey Courtney- is this going to be replacing your music and personal blogs or just the music blog?

  3. January 13, 2010 5:47 pm

    Kudos and congratulations… wonderful work and expression of YOU!

  4. January 15, 2010 2:06 pm

    Onward, to greener pasture!

  5. cari permalink
    January 18, 2010 11:24 am

    endings are sad, but until something ends, something better cannot begin, right? i’m excited to pop over and see how things have changed since i was there last.

  6. April 11, 2010 7:37 am

    Love the haircut—and this is a great post! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

